NYLON Magazine Digital Edition (Web)

I’ll let you in on a secret- NYLON Magazine’s website offers a “sneak peak” look at all of their issues in the past 5 years. That “sneak peak” happens to be the entire magazine. So if you click “The Magazine” on the navigation bar and then on any of the covers you can read the issue via zinio.

Although, it sometimes lags (most likely due to my computer/internet connection) zinio did an awesome job creating this viewer. The interface design is beautiful and it gives you numerous options on how to view the content. Not only is it available in full screen mode, but it also allows you to embed any page/issue by providing you with the code.

I absolutely love that NYLON has a digital free access version of their magazine. I’m able to take screenshots for posts instead of tediously scan the print copy. The only thing that confuses me is why do they call it a “sneak peak” if it’s the whole magazine? As a print subscriber, it leaves me wondering why I should pay if other people can just read it online for free. Also, why in the world would they charge for the iPad version of the magazine if they don’t for the web version?

Obviously, there are many pros to being a print subscriber and having the actual magazine in your hands to read. And on the iPad, I can’t access the digital website viewer because it uses Flash. Part of me is wondering whether the full digital magazine is only supposed to be viewable if you’re logged in and you’re a print subscriber. This would make more sense. However, to clarify: I think it’s great that the digital version is free, just confused as to why.

Below I tried to embed the NYLON November 2011 zinio viewer, but WordPress ain’t havin’ it. It limits the number of times you can zoom, so I’d just look at it on NYLON’s site. I included the embed link, though!

http://www.zinio.com/widget.jsp?is=416196386&pg=1&type=lgNylon-Nov-11

One thought on “NYLON Magazine Digital Edition (Web)

  1. Pingback: NYLON iPhone App | Nylon Magazine

Leave a Reply

